Dear Indiana Lincoln Highway Association Members and Friends,

2016 has been a year full of successful projects completed and plans for more activities in the year ahead.  A few of this year’s highlights include:

  • LH-holiday-signCollaboration with six other Indiana Byways to produce an Indiana Byways Bicentennial Passport program that encouraged exploration of the state’s historic roads during the Bicentennial year.
  • Successful completion of the Henry C. Ostermann Memorial Bench and Ideal Section/Sauk Trail restoration project and dedication ceremony in September.
  • Determined INDOT-approved locations for placement of 181 Indiana Lincoln Highway Byway Signs and 100+ turn arrows, which have been purchased and distributed for installation along both routes of the Lincoln Highway in Indiana.
  • Construction and dedication of a Lincoln Highway gazebo and historical panels at Fidler Pond Park, along the Lincoln Highway in Goshen.
  • Partnered with the Goshen Historical Society for the Brass from the Past fundraiser at the historic downtown Goshen Theater, generating interest in, awareness of, and funds for future Indiana Lincoln Highway endeavors.
  • Received determination of eligibility for Benton Cabins, obtained owner’s permission, and applied for PIP grant from Indiana Landmarks to cover cost of National Register nomination.
  • Hosted two membership meetings in Goshen, in May and October.
  • Added several new board members as we begin to implement our new Indiana Lincoln Highway Byway Corridor Management Plan.

Looking forward to 2017, we anticipate more projects aimed to generate interest and activity along the Lincoln Highway.  Goals for the coming year include these projects currently underway:

  • Complete the installation of the Indiana Lincoln Highway Byway directional signs along both alignments and establish a fund to add/replace signs as necessary.
  • Determine a location for the installation of an original 1928 concrete Lincoln Highway post and informational signage along the route in Fort Wayne.
  • Collaborate with other Indiana Byways in development of a GPS-driven app, drawing attention to and providing directions and information for travelers along the Lincoln Highway and other byways.
  • Complete a National Register nomination for the Benton Cabins, located along the 1913 Lincoln Highway route in Elkhart County.

To accomplish these objectives, we need your support.  As you plan your year-end giving please consider how you can help us attain our 2017 goals! The Indiana Lincoln Highway Association is a 501(c)(3) corporation, making donations tax deductible to the extent of the law.

Thanks in advance for your ongoing support of the Indiana Lincoln Highway Association!

Debra Parcell, President

Indiana Lincoln Highway Association,
402 West Washington St
South Bend, IN 46601

You can make donations by sending a check to our address above, or online with PayPal by clicking the “Donate” button below.  You can pay by credit card even if you don’t have a PayPal account.

Centennial Logo


Announcing the Indiana Lincoln Highway Byway The Official State of Indiana Designation for the Old Lincoln Highway across Northern Indiana

The Board of Directors of the Indiana Lincoln Highway Association received official word from the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) on Thursday, October 6th, 2011 that Indiana Lt. Governor, Becky Skillman, and INDOT Commissioner Michael B. Cline, signed the official resolution designating the historic Lincoln Highway across northern Indiana as an official Indiana State Byway on Tuesday, October 4, 2011. The Indiana portion of the Lincoln Highway now becomes part of the Indiana Byways Program. (More……)

Ideal Section (Dyer, IN) painting by Carl Rakeman Ideal Section painting (Dyer, IN) by Carl Rakeman, courtesy Federal Highway Administration

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *