Join us in La Porte for our Spring Meeting

Our Spring meeting will be Saturday, June 11, 2022 in La Porte at the La Port County Historical Society Museum.  We will have a business meeting, tour of the Museum, and the unveiling of a banner marking this as the location a modern Control Station.  There will also be a catered lunch at the Museum.  More details will be forthcoming.  We hope you can join us!

New Lincoln Highway Kiosk Dedicated in La Porte

On May 5, La Porte became the fourth town along Indiana’s Lincoln Highway routes to display an informational kiosk; it joins Warsaw, New Carlisle and Plymouth.

La Porte Kiosk Dedication

The newest kiosk can be found in front of the town’s restored NY Central and Lake Shore Depot (803 Washington St.), now the home of the Greater La Porte Chamber of Commerce. One side of the kiosk highlights the Lincoln Highway’s history through La Porte County, featuring such landmarks as Bob’s Bar-B-Q, the Hotel Rumely and the county courthouse, as well as the depot. The reverse side offers a brief history of “The Lincoln Highway: American’s First Paved Coast-to-Coast Highway.”

The kiosk, which was painted in a color scheme to match the depot, was unveiled by Indiana Lincoln Highway Association members Jim Bevins and Fred Sachtleben. Both men are La Porte County natives who spent more than two years on construction and installation of the kiosk.

La Porte Mayor Blair Milo, and Greater La Porte Chamber of Commerce President Mike Seitz, were presented with a Proclamation prepared by Indiana Lincoln Highway Association President Jan Shupert-Arick.  Click here for the Proclamation.

La Porte Mayor Blair Milo & Chamber President Mike Seitz

The annual meeting of the Indiana Lincoln Highway Association followed at B&J’s American Café. The group learned of opportunities for partnering with businesses in a presentation from Chamber President  Mike Seitz.

The Indiana Lincoln Highway Association’s accomplishments of the past year – highlighted by the highway’s designation as a Byway– were outlined in a presentation by President Jan Shupert-Arick.

Photos courtesy Tim Ashley.  Click photos for larger views.

Jim Bevins & Fred Sachtleben
Restored La Porte Depot